Gianandrea Noseda Conducts The Philadelphians
12:42 pm
Wed May 21, 2014

The Philadelphians in Concert on WRTI: Saint-Saens' "Organ" Symphony, May 25, 1 PM

The Philadelphia Orchestra in Concert broadcast this Sunday at 1 pm opens with a collection of “Symphonic Fragments” from Alfredo Casella’s rarely performed opera La Donna Serpente (The Snake-Woman), based on an 18th-century fable-play by Carlo Gozzi, and is followed by one of Sergei Prokofiev’s bold compositions pointing in the 20th-century directions, his Violin Concerto No. 2, dating from the transitional time just before his return to Russia, and played brilliantly by the young violinist James Ehnes.

Violinist James Ehnes speaks with WRTI's Susan Lewis.

Italian conductor Gianandrea Noseda talk about his interest in the music of Alfredo Casella with WRTI's Susan Lewis.

And, after intermission, Camille Saint-Saens’ so-called “Organ” Symphony, the fifth (and last) that Saint-Saens composed and the third he published, will feature the Fred J. Cooper Memorial Organ, played by Michael Stairs. The use of the organ, the “king of instruments,” is relatively limited in this work, but its overwhelming effectiveness has made it one of Saint-Saens’s most popular works. Gianandrea Noseda conducts.

Organist Michael Stairs speaks with WRTI's Jim Cotter about playing Saint-Saens.

A concert not to be missed, first heard last month at Verizon Hall! That’s this Sunday, May 25 from 1 to 3 pm on WRTI, and online at Gregg Whiteside is producer and host. This broadcast is underwritten by Bryn Mawr Trust Wealth Management.


Alfredo Casella: Symphonic Fragments from La Donna Serpente

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2


Saint-Saens: Symphony No. 3 (“Organ”)

James Ehnes, violinist

Gianandrea Noseda, conductor