Arts & Culture http://wrti.org en No Booze at The Constitution Center http://wrti.org/post/no-booze-constitution-center <p>As the National Constitution Center stages a <a href="http://prohibition.constitutioncenter.org/index.html">major&nbsp;exhibition on Prohibition</a>, Susan Lewis looks at the early 20th-century ban on alcohol and its consequences&nbsp;for American culture.</p><p> Sat, 22 Dec 2012 21:14:40 +0000 Susan Lewis 4882 at http://wrti.org No Booze at The Constitution Center Is Everyone Still Here? http://wrti.org/post/everyone-still-here <p>According to a widely misunderstood Mayan prophecy, the world should have ended on December 21st. Jim Cotter speaks with Loa Traxler, the curator of <a href="http://www.penn.museum/sites/2012/" target="_blank"><em><strong>MAYA</strong></em><strong><em> 2012: Lords of Time</em></strong>,</a> an exhibition at the Penn Museum in Philadelphia, to learn more.</p><p> Sat, 22 Dec 2012 20:47:57 +0000 Jim Cotter 4883 at http://wrti.org Is Everyone Still Here? The Trial of Fallen Angels: A Novel http://wrti.org/post/trial-fallen-angels-novel <p>Jim Cotter speaks with Philadelphia lawyer-turned-novelist James Kimmell,&nbsp;Jr.&nbsp;His first work of fiction, <em>The Trial of Fallen Angels,</em> is published by the high-profile Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam&nbsp; imprint. The novel follows the surreal journey of a trial lawyer searching for answers in the afterlife.&nbsp; There, she is called upon to return to her profession, prosecuting and defending other souls at their eternal judgment.&nbsp; At one point she even puts God on trial for the great flood.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 15 Dec 2012 16:05:00 +0000 Jim Cotter 4881 at http://wrti.org The Trial of Fallen Angels: A Novel Shipwreck! Winslow Homer and "The Life Line" http://wrti.org/post/shipwreck-winslow-homer-and-life-line-0 <p>Susan Lewis explores an exhibition at the <a href="http://www.philamuseum.org/exhibitions/749.html"><strong>Philadelphia Museum of Art </strong></a>on the American painter Winslow Homer and the American tradition of lifesaving.</p><p> Sat, 15 Dec 2012 16:00:00 +0000 Susan Lewis 4880 at http://wrti.org Shipwreck! Winslow Homer and "The Life Line" New Book On Barnes Aims To Dispel Myths http://wrti.org/post/new-book-barnes-aims-dispel-myths <p>After years of controversy about its move from Merion, and just months after the Barnes Foundation has settled into its new home in Philadelphia, a new book by former Harvard University President and current Barnes board member, Neil Rudenstein has been published,&nbsp; titled: <em><strong>The House of Barnes:&nbsp; The Man, the Collection and the Controversy. </strong></em></p><p>The book grew out of research Rudenstein did to inform his decision about whether he was prepared to join the newly expanded Barnes board prior to the move.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 16:48:16 +0000 Jim Cotter 4853 at http://wrti.org New Book On Barnes Aims To Dispel Myths Dancing Around Marcel Duchamp's Bride At The Philadelphia Museum of Art http://wrti.org/post/dancing-around-marcel-duchamps-bride-philadelphia-museum-art <p>The Philadelphia Museum of Art boasts the world’s largest collection of works by French Artist Marcel Duchamp, known best for his avante-garde works that incorporate common materials.&nbsp; The Museum is now exploring&nbsp; his American legacy – in not only visual art,&nbsp; but dance and music.&nbsp; In addition to showcasing over 40 works by Duchamp, the interdisciplinary exhibition juxtaposes more than 60 works by fine artists Jasper Johns and Robert Rauschenberg, music by John Cage, and performances of choreography by Merce Cunningham.&nbsp;</p><p>The work that drew these four younger artists to Philadelphia to better understand Duchamp was his, then, best-known masterpiece – <strong><em>The Bride Stripped Bare by Her Bachelors, Even</em></strong> - also called, <strong><em>The Large Glass, </em></strong>finished in the 1920s.&nbsp; It is, in fact, two large frames of glass that contain pictures created with materials such as lead foil, wire, and dust.&nbsp;</p><p>Jim Cotter speaks with exhibition curator Carlos Basualdo, (the Museum’s curator of contemporary art), about Duchamp’s impact on these artists, and his relationship with Philadelphia.</p><p><em><strong>Dancing around the Bride: Cage, Cunningham, Johns, Rauschenberg, and Duchamp </strong></em>is<em> </em>at the Philadelphia Museum of Art through January 21, 2013.</p><p><a href="http://www.philamuseum.org/exhibitions/765.html" target="_blank"><strong>Information here.&nbsp;</strong></a></p><p> Sat, 01 Dec 2012 13:12:31 +0000 Jim Cotter 4616 at http://wrti.org Dancing Around Marcel Duchamp's Bride At The Philadelphia Museum of Art Walnut Street Theatre Celebrates Artistic Leader's 30th Anniversary http://wrti.org/post/walnut-street-theatre-celebrates-artistic-leaders-30th-anniversary <p></p><p>Jim Cotter speaks with Bernard Havard, the Walnut Street Theatre’s president and producing artistic director. Havard is celebrating three decades at the helm of America’s oldest theater.</p><p> Sat, 24 Nov 2012 15:09:31 +0000 Jim Cotter 4763 at http://wrti.org Walnut Street Theatre Celebrates Artistic Leader's 30th Anniversary James Kimmel, Jr.'s Novel: The Trial of Fallen Angels http://wrti.org/post/james-kimmel-jrs-novel-trial-fallen-angels <p></p><p>Jim Cotter speaks with Philadelphia lawyer-turned-novelist <a href="http://www.jameskimmeljr.com/" target="_blank"><strong>James Kimmel, Jr</strong></a>. His very compelling first novel is published this week.</p> Fri, 09 Nov 2012 21:11:17 +0000 Jim Cotter 4701 at http://wrti.org James Kimmel, Jr.'s Novel: The Trial of Fallen Angels A New Arts & Culture Plan for Montgomery County http://wrti.org/post/new-arts-culture-plan-montgomery-county <p></p><p>A new master plan for cultural and economic development in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania - <a href="http://creativemontco.org/" target="_blank"><strong>Creative Montco</strong></a> - is investigated by Susan Lewis.</p> Fri, 09 Nov 2012 20:30:57 +0000 Susan Lewis 4698 at http://wrti.org A New Arts & Culture Plan for Montgomery County The Curtain Rises In Norristown http://wrti.org/post/curtain-rises-norristown <p></p><p>The Philadelphia Inquirer's David Patrick Stearns explores how Norristown is successfully modeling itself as a serious theater destination.</p><p> Fri, 09 Nov 2012 20:24:06 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 4697 at http://wrti.org The Curtain Rises In Norristown