WRTI Picks from NPR Music http://wrti.org en A Debut Symphony That Embraced The World http://wrti.org/post/debut-symphony-embraced-world Conducting <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16039387/gustav-mahler" target="_blank">Gustav Mahler</a>'s First Symphony is an exhilarating and demanding task. Although it's one of his shortest symphonies (at about 55 minutes), it is an epic journey that requires countless hours of analysis and examination of the score. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Marin Alsop 7202 at http://wrti.org A Debut Symphony That Embraced The World Musicians, Take Note: Your Instrument May Be Contraband http://wrti.org/post/musicians-take-note-your-instrument-may-be-contraband New Obama administration rules aimed at protecting African elephants are causing widespread anxiety in the music world. From country to classical, working musicians say the policy will make them think twice about touring abroad.<p>The proposed regulations would place a near-total ban on anything made with ivory moving in and out of the U.S.<p>Says Craig Hoover, who heads up the Wildlife Trade and Conservation Branch of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service: "The reason for that is ... Mon, 07 Apr 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Adam Ragusea 7181 at http://wrti.org Musicians, Take Note: Your Instrument May Be Contraband Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours http://wrti.org/post/two-leads-two-deaths-18-hours Over the weekend, soprano Kristine Opolais sang her heart out — and died twice.<p>Friday evening she had sung the lead in <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/90063951/giacomo-puccini" target="_blank">Puccini</a>'s <em>Madama Butterfly</em>. It was her debut in that role at the Metropolitan Opera in New York. It was a big deal. Opolais was so excited about it that she stayed up until five the next morning.<p>At 7:30 Saturday morning, she got a call from Peter Gelb, the general manager of the Met. Groggy-voiced, Opolais said hello, and after a moment it became clear what was happening. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7179 at http://wrti.org Two Leads, Two Deaths In 18 Hours The Soul Of The World's Most Expensive Violin http://wrti.org/post/soul-worlds-most-expensive-violin <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qa4ZUTWJlKU</p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 15:09:41 +0000 NPR Staff 7072 at http://wrti.org The Soul Of The World's Most Expensive Violin Joseph Calleja: Tiny Desk Concert http://wrti.org/post/joseph-calleja-tiny-desk-concert Malta, the island nation 50 miles south of Sicily, may be small, but it's home to one of the biggest stars in opera, tenor Joseph Calleja. And like his country's name, which may originate in the Greek word for honey, Calleja's voice is a potent mix of Italianate passion and sweetness. Just listen to how he pulls the volume back to a slender golden ray of tone several times in Tosti's gorgeous "Ideale," and especially the word "disciogliea" in the Puccini aria that closes this performance. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 18:44:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 7133 at http://wrti.org Joseph Calleja: Tiny Desk Concert After A Painful Year, Bud Powell's Triumpant 1953 Return http://wrti.org/post/after-painful-year-bud-powells-triumpant-1953-return The great bebop pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15404849/bud-powell">Bud Powell</a> played several engagements at the New York jazz club Birdland in 1953. Parts of his shows were broadcast on the radio, and one listener recorded some onto acetate discs. A new collection of those recordings is out now: <em>Birdland 1953</em> on three CDs from <a href="http://www.espdisk.com/official/catalog/4073.html" target="_blank">ESP-Disk'</a>. The sound quality isn't much, but the music is terrific. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Kevin Whitehead 7132 at http://wrti.org After A Painful Year, Bud Powell's Triumpant 1953 Return In The First Violins — At Least For One Night http://wrti.org/post/first-violins-least-one-night <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tm5BoFihAJw</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:52:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 7116 at http://wrti.org In The First Violins — At Least For One Night Ambrose Akinmusire: 'Music Can Tell You What It Wants To Be' http://wrti.org/post/ambrose-akinmusire-music-can-tell-you-what-it-wants-be For a jazz trumpet player, you couldn't be more on top of the world than <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/114315329/ambrose-akinmusire" target="_blank">Ambrose Akinmusire</a>. The 32-year-old is looking good on the cover of this month's <em><a href="http://www.downbeat.com/default.asp?sect=stories&subsect=story_detail&sid=911" target="_blank">DownBeat</a></em>, and he's managed to please the jazz critics and connect with audiences. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 22:40:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7101 at http://wrti.org Ambrose Akinmusire: 'Music Can Tell You What It Wants To Be' A Kid Named Carl Stirs Up The Bach Musical Dynasty http://wrti.org/post/kid-named-carl-stirs-bach-musical-dynasty When it comes to musical dynasties, it's tough to top the Bach family. From town fiddlers to court composers, the Bachs dominated German music for seven generations. Today, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15031897/johann-sebastian-bach" target="_blank">Johann Sebastian</a> towers above all his relatives, but there's another important Bach we shouldn't forget — especially today, on the 300th anniversary of his birth.<p>Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, C.P.E. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 12:53:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 7080 at http://wrti.org A Kid Named Carl Stirs Up The Bach Musical Dynasty Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83 http://wrti.org/post/robert-ashley-operas-misunderstood-innovator-dies-83 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQBpire6jhw</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:38:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 7057 at http://wrti.org Robert Ashley, Opera's Misunderstood Innovator, Dies At 83