Ari Shapiro http://wrti.org en How Would A President Romney Handle Afghanistan? http://wrti.org/post/how-would-president-romney-handle-afghanistan An Army staff sergeant's alleged massacre of Afghan civilians has brought new calls for the United States to leave Afghanistan even before the timetable set by President Obama, who has announced that the U.S. combat mission will be over by the end of 2014.<p>Some Republican presidential candidates are among those publicly asking if now is the time for the U.S. Fri, 23 Mar 2012 21:19:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 3593 at http://wrti.org How Would A President Romney Handle Afghanistan? Romney Wins Illinois With Range Of Voters http://wrti.org/post/romney-wins-illinois-range-voters Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>For once, Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney has met or even exceeded the expectations that were set for him. When he won the big Midwestern states of Michigan and Ohio, the margins were narrow enough and analysts were not impressed - given his huge advantage in money and organization. Wed, 21 Mar 2012 08:00:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 3465 at http://wrti.org With New Film, Obama Hopes For Viral Video Boost http://wrti.org/post/new-film-obama-hopes-viral-video-boost <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2POembdArVo</p> Fri, 16 Mar 2012 00:04:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 1497 at http://wrti.org With New Film, Obama Hopes For Viral Video Boost For Appeal To Future, Romney's Rhetoric Looks Back http://wrti.org/post/appeal-future-romneys-rhetoric-looks-back <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zPVxsHJwfcg</p> Thu, 15 Mar 2012 19:07:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 1480 at http://wrti.org For Appeal To Future, Romney's Rhetoric Looks Back A 'New Low'? Romney Has Admitted Voting In Other Party's Primary http://wrti.org/post/new-low-romney-has-admitted-voting-other-partys-primary In a final burst of campaigning in Michigan Tuesday, embattled GOP front-runner Mitt Romney complained that rival Rick Santorum was making automated phone calls to Democrats and urging them to vote against Romney in the Republican race. (Although only declared Republicans can vote in the party primary, voters can change their affiliation to cast a ballot.)<p>In an appearance on Fox News, Romney said the robocalls were "outrageous and disgusting — a terrible, dirty trick" and accused Santorum of "teaming up" with President Obama's campaign. Tue, 28 Feb 2012 15:31:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro & Debra Rosenberg 888 at http://wrti.org A 'New Low'? Romney Has Admitted Voting In Other Party's Primary Mich. Prospects Looking Up For Romney http://wrti.org/post/mich-prospects-looking-romney Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION, from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>The Republican race for president heads to Michigan and Arizona this week. Both states hold primaries on Tuesday. Former Governor Mitt Romney was in Michigan yesterday, his campaign bus logging more than 250 miles across the state. Sun, 26 Feb 2012 13:00:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 821 at http://wrti.org On Romney's Michigan Tour, A Change Of Pace http://wrti.org/post/romneys-michigan-tour-change-pace Mitt Romney is on a bus tour across Michigan, hoping to win the votes of the state where he grew up. With primary day on Tuesday, Romney seems to have closed the gap in polls with Rick Santorum.<p>This trip has the feel of those early days campaigning back in New Hampshire, before any votes were actually cast: the long bus rides, the snowy landscape, even the impromptu restaurant drop-ins.<p>One restaurant in Mount Clemens, Mich., is aptly named "The Mitt." Owner Ken Leonard says he chose the name for the shape of Michigan; the state looks roughly like a catcher's mitt. Sat, 25 Feb 2012 11:09:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 797 at http://wrti.org On Romney's Michigan Tour, A Change Of Pace