Nick Morrison http://wrti.org en Jazz Salutes Its Disc Jockeys http://wrti.org/post/jazz-salutes-its-disc-jockeys The advent of bebop added a fresh sound to American music. It also added new voices to some metropolitan radio stations: the late-night jazz DJs who specialized in presenting this new music to their fellow hipster nightflies.<p>To recognize the work of the groundbreaking DJs who lent them critical exposure, jazz musicians of the period would occasionally write songs in their honor. Here are five of those songs. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2013 Jazz24. Thu, 18 Apr 2013 20:59:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 5423 at http://wrti.org Jazz Salutes Its Disc Jockeys Juan De Marcos And The Afro-Cuban All Stars: Dig That 'Dundunbanza' http://wrti.org/post/juan-de-marcos-and-afro-cuban-all-stars-dig-dundunbanza Many music lovers know Juan de Marcos González as the man who teamed up with guitarist Ry Cooder to create <em>Buena Vista Social Club</em>. But González was busy celebrating the history of Cuban music long before Cooder arrived on the scene.<p>Concurrently with the <em>Buena Vista</em> project, González was recording an album with his own band, <em>The Afro-Cuban All Stars</em>. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 13:03:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 5219 at http://wrti.org Juan De Marcos And The Afro-Cuban All Stars: Dig That 'Dundunbanza' A List Of 5 Songs About ... Lists http://wrti.org/post/list-5-songs-about-lists Over the past few years, Take Five's theme-based jazz lists have covered a wide variety of subjects. We've covered the careers of legends, the cutting-edge work of up-and-coming artists, styles, periods, holidays, regional scenes and more. Today, Take Five goes "meta" and presents a list of songs about... lists.<p>The lyrical conceits of these five songs are simply to list things. And, of course, feel free to suggest your favorite songs about lists that weren't included here. ("What, no 'Route 66'? Really?") <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2013 Jazz24. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 21:44:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 5210 at http://wrti.org A List Of 5 Songs About ... Lists Graham Dechter: Youth, Steeped In Tradition http://wrti.org/post/graham-dechter-youth-steeped-tradition Sat, 01 Dec 2012 13:03:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4829 at http://wrti.org Coleman Hawkins: Tenor Saxophone, Front And Center http://wrti.org/post/coleman-hawkins-tenor-saxophone-front-and-center <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8kQzLbIEu8</p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 22:30:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4773 at http://wrti.org Coleman Hawkins: Tenor Saxophone, Front And Center Bill Charlap: The American Songbook, Handled With Care http://wrti.org/post/bill-charlap-american-songbook-handled-care It's no wonder that pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15343365/bill-charlap">Bill Charlap</a> loves the music that has come to be called The Great American Songbook — the songs of great Tin Pan Alley composers such as Jerome Kern, George Gershwin and Irving Berlin. He grew up with it. Sat, 17 Nov 2012 12:18:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4754 at http://wrti.org Bill Charlap: The American Songbook, Handled With Care Django's Legacy: 21st-Century Gypsy Jazz http://wrti.org/post/djangos-legacy-21st-century-gypsy-jazz <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15404866/django-reinhardt">Django Reinhardt</a> has achieved an almost godlike status among those who love jazz guitar. When he and violinist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91706266/stephane-grappelli">Stephane Grappelli</a> formed the Quintet of the Hot Club of France in 1934, they created a new sound in jazz: The guitar and violin served as the lead instrumental voices, propelled by two hard-swinging rhythm guitars and a bass. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 18:39:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4544 at http://wrti.org Django's Legacy: 21st-Century Gypsy Jazz Cyrus Chestnut: Nobody Like 'The Nutman' http://wrti.org/post/cyrus-chestnut-nobody-nutman Pianist Cyrus Chestnut took his time making a name for himself on the jazz scene: For a decade starting in the mid-1980s, he apprenticed as pianist for Jon Hendricks, Betty Carter, Donald Harrison and Wynton Marsalis. Wed, 03 Oct 2012 13:41:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4529 at http://wrti.org Cyrus Chestnut: Nobody Like 'The Nutman' Cannonball Adderley: 5 Songs From A Joyous Soul http://wrti.org/post/cannonball-adderley-5-songs-joyous-soul <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPsJtaFonZg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCqRYneOdIM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3djKXcsqDM8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HSFhixO-uo</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69uh2T1TtTY</p> Sat, 15 Sep 2012 12:03:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4451 at http://wrti.org Cannonball Adderley: 5 Songs From A Joyous Soul Karrin Allyson: Swinging Jazz Standards http://wrti.org/post/karrin-allyson-swinging-jazz-standards Over the past 20 years, vocalist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15328581/karrin-allyson">Karrin Allyson</a> has recorded 13 albums that cover vast musical territory. She's explored The Great American Songbook, the musical styles of Brazil and France, the blues and the work of contemporary songwriters. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 19:09:00 +0000 Nick Morrison 4403 at http://wrti.org Karrin Allyson: Swinging Jazz Standards