David Patrick Stearns http://wrti.org en Exploring PA's Historic Coal-Mining Culture...Through Song http://wrti.org/post/exploring-pas-historic-coal-mining-culturethrough-song <p></p><p><strong>The Mendelssohn Club Choir</strong> is mounting its biggest-ever production later this month with the premiere of <a href="http://www.anthracitefields.com/wp/" target="_blank"><em><strong>Anthracite Fields </strong></em></a>by the cutting-edge composer<strong> Julia Wolfe,</strong> who is exploring the coal-mining culture in her Pennsylvania roots. The Philadelphia Inquirer's David Patrick Stearns met with her...inside a coal mine.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 18:07:11 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7196 at http://wrti.org Exploring PA's Historic Coal-Mining Culture...Through Song Do You Know The First Figaro? http://wrti.org/post/do-you-know-first-figaro <p></p><p>Figaro, the wily barber of Seville, is portrayed in two great operas - the popular Rossini work that bears his name, and Mozart’s account of his marriage. The Philadelphia Inquirer’s David Patrick Stearns takes us to <strong>Princeton's McCarter Theatre</strong> and rehearsals for two of the plays by Pierre-Augustin Caron de Beaumarchais that originated the Figaro character.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:41:23 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7148 at http://wrti.org Do You Know The First Figaro? A Secret World: Song http://wrti.org/post/secret-world-song <p></p><p><strong>Lyric Fest</strong>, the concert series that's been giving high-concept song recitals for 10 years, is celebrating women poets on <a href="http://lyricfest.org/featured1314/female-american-poets/" target="_blank"><strong>March 28th and 30th with concerts in Bryn Mawr and Center City titled "American Women Poets in Song"</strong></a> -&nbsp; but with new music written by male composers. Maybe the female composers were too busy? The Philadelphia Inquirer's David Patrick Stearns discovers that song recitals are a world with few rules.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 13:56:41 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7124 at http://wrti.org A Secret World: Song The Rocky Road To Broadway http://wrti.org/post/rocky-road-broadway <p></p><p>After six films made over 30 years, the mythical Philadelphia boxer Rocky Balboa has graduated to Broadway, with <a href="http://rockybroadway.com/" target="_blank"><strong><em>Rocky, the Musical</em></strong></a>. The Philadelphia Inquirer’s David Patrick Stearns says the old underdog is perfectly recognizable on the Winter Garden Theatre stage. But much else has changed.</p><p>http://youtu.be/f7-qD7oa1K8</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7098 at http://wrti.org The Rocky Road To Broadway One Program, Three Performances. Same Experience? http://wrti.org/post/one-program-three-performances-same-experience <div><p>Yannick Nezet-Seguin often talks about how much his Philadelphia Orchestra performances change and improve from day to day. But in what way? The Philadelphia Inquirer's David Patrick Stearns experienced three performances of a recent program – in person at the Kimmel Center on Thursday, on Friday listening to a live WQXR radio broadcast from Carnegie Hall, and finally on WRTI’s live Sunday afternoon concert broadcast.</p></div><p></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 19:32:23 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7048 at http://wrti.org One Program, Three Performances. Same Experience? The Relentless Career of Yannick Nezet-Seguin http://wrti.org/post/relentless-career-yannick-nezet-seguin <p></p><p>Yannick Nezet-Seguin has been known to conduct the <em>St. Matthew Passion</em> and <em>La Traviata</em> - on the same day. But he recently returned from a two-month work hiatus brought on by illness. Now, as the Philadelphia Inquirer’s David Patrick Stearns reports, Yannick is learning how to pace himself, but not from his predecessor at the Rotterdam Philharmonic.</p> Mon, 17 Feb 2014 11:45:08 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7006 at http://wrti.org The Relentless Career of Yannick Nezet-Seguin Opera Philadelphia Gives Us: "The Bird" http://wrti.org/post/opera-philadelphia-gives-us-bird <p></p><p>Whenever Charlie Parker played a solo, you knew you'd feel good by the end. Opera Philadelphia is jumping off an even higher dive - an opera about the celebrated saxophonist, titled<a href="http://www.operaphila.org/production/charlie-parkers-yardbird" target="_blank"> <em><strong>Charlie Parker's Yardbird</strong></em> </a>that the Philadelphia Inquirer's David Patrick Stearns reports will bring many unexpected things to the Perelman Theater at its 2015 premiere.&nbsp;</p><p>http://youtu.be/eAQg-55tZxg</p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 22:17:57 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 6981 at http://wrti.org Opera Philadelphia Gives Us: "The Bird" All About Saint Hildegard of Bingen http://wrti.org/post/all-about-saint-hildegard-bingen <p></p> Mon, 20 Jan 2014 11:22:47 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 6902 at http://wrti.org All About Saint Hildegard of Bingen The Philadelphia Singers Resurrect A Requiem http://wrti.org/post/philadelphia-singers-resurrect-requiem <p></p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 17:57:20 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 6887 at http://wrti.org The Philadelphia Singers Resurrect A Requiem Priscilla's Broadway Adventure http://wrti.org/post/priscillas-broadway-adventure <p></p> Sun, 05 Jan 2014 22:59:13 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 6863 at http://wrti.org Priscilla's Broadway Adventure