Jazz with Bob Perkins http://wrti.org en The Beloved Ella Fitzgerald: First Lady of Song http://wrti.org/post/beloved-ella-fitzgerald-first-lady-song <p></p><p>The great Ella Fitzgerald was born on April 25th, 1917, and died in 1996; she would have turned 98 next week. As WRTI’s Susan Lewis reports, "The Queen of Jazz" - also called "The First Lady of Song," left a lasting legacy on American song and jazz.</p><p>http://youtu.be/u2bigf337aU</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 13:56:13 +0000 Susan Lewis 7188 at http://wrti.org The Beloved Ella Fitzgerald: First Lady of Song A Jam-Packed Jazz Celebration in Center City http://wrti.org/post/jam-packed-jazz-celebration-center-city <p></p><p>The third annual<strong> <a href="http://ccjazzfest.com/" target="_blank">Center City Jazz Festival </a></strong>is coming up on <strong>Saturday, April 19th</strong>&nbsp; There are 16 bands performing in a six-hour period, in four venues in downtown Philadelphia. WRTI’s Susan Lewis has more.</p><p>The festival warms up on <a href="http://www.philamuseum.org/artafter5" target="_blank"><strong>Friday, April 11th at Art After 5 at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. </strong></a></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 01:45:47 +0000 Susan Lewis 7169 at http://wrti.org A Jam-Packed Jazz Celebration in Center City April Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine http://wrti.org/post/april-jazz-picks-icon-magazine <p><strong><strong>Check out Jazz writer Nick Bewsey's CD suggestions for April.</strong></strong></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:22:20 +0000 Nick Bewsey 7199 at http://wrti.org April Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://wrti.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 07:34:00 +0000 Susan Stamberg 7187 at http://wrti.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation Last Call at the Downbeat: The Dizzy Gillespie Story http://wrti.org/post/last-call-downbeat-dizzy-gillespie-story <p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 00:22:57 +0000 Meridee Duddleston 7149 at http://wrti.org Last Call at the Downbeat: The Dizzy Gillespie Story A (Gerry) Mulligan Stew on WRTI http://wrti.org/post/gerry-mulligan-stew-wrti <p>The Big Band side of the influential baritone saxophonist Gerry Mulligan will be featured on Big Band Jazz this <strong>Sunday, April 13 at 7 pm</strong>. An arranger with Gene Krupa, Elliot Lawrence, and Stan Kenton in the '40s and '50s, to his own Concert Jazz Band in the '60s, it's an 87th birthday tribute to the one-time Philly resident.</p><p>http://youtu.be/rv_mCPTydIg</p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 20:18:16 +0000 Bob Craig 7168 at http://wrti.org A (Gerry) Mulligan Stew on WRTI Those "I Love Jazz" Moments http://wrti.org/post/those-i-love-jazz-moments <p>One night recently, as I was home struggling to convince my toddler that the floor is not where leftover food lives, John Coltrane and Duke Ellington’s “In A Sentimental Mood” came on the radio. Suddenly, I found myself paying a bit more attention to the music than the drama at hand. Why? Because I knew what was coming....that specific moment in the song that always gets to me. There's a total mood shift as the timing completely changes and you start to notice the drums more and more. And then you start to wonder if the drums were even there at all during the beginning of the tune. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:58:00 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7158 at http://wrti.org Those "I Love Jazz" Moments Remembering The Sensational Billie Holiday http://wrti.org/post/remembering-sensational-billie-holiday <p></p><p>Jazz great <strong>Billie Holiday,</strong> who died at age 44 in 1959, would have turned 99 on April 7, 2014. As WRTI’s Susan Lewis reports, in her short career, this Philadelphia-born singer made a huge impact on jazz and American song.</p><p>http://youtu.be/4P0hG3sD0-E</p><p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.solunlimitedjazz.com/" target="_blank"><strong>The Sol Unlimited Jazz and Arts website</strong></a> has more information about Serena Sol Brown's own music as well as Sol Unlimited's summer festival in Philadelphia.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:04:27 +0000 Susan Lewis 7140 at http://wrti.org Remembering The Sensational Billie Holiday 'A Love Supreme' Comes Alive In Unearthed Photos http://wrti.org/post/love-supreme-comes-alive-unearthed-photos Whenever photographer Chuck Stewart was hired by a record company to document a recording session, he would shoot during the rehearsal takes, playback and downtime. The company would take what it needed, the remainder likely never to be developed, much less published. After decades in the photography business, and thousands of album covers to his name, he's amassed a lot of negatives.<p>Recently, his son David was browsing through his archives when he found six undeveloped rolls of film from December 1964, 50 years ago. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:34:00 +0000 Patrick Jarenwattananon 7150 at http://wrti.org 'A Love Supreme' Comes Alive In Unearthed Photos After A Painful Year, Bud Powell's Triumpant 1953 Return http://wrti.org/post/after-painful-year-bud-powells-triumpant-1953-return The great bebop pianist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15404849/bud-powell">Bud Powell</a> played several engagements at the New York jazz club Birdland in 1953. Parts of his shows were broadcast on the radio, and one listener recorded some onto acetate discs. A new collection of those recordings is out now: <em>Birdland 1953</em> on three CDs from <a href="http://www.espdisk.com/official/catalog/4073.html" target="_blank">ESP-Disk'</a>. The sound quality isn't much, but the music is terrific. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Kevin Whitehead 7132 at http://wrti.org After A Painful Year, Bud Powell's Triumpant 1953 Return