Jazz Through the Day http://wrti.org en Lauren Lark on Sunday Jazz with Jeff Duperon: July 27, 8:30 PM http://wrti.org/post/lauren-lark-sunday-jazz-jeff-duperon-july-27-830-pm <p>On Sunday, July 27th at 8:30 PM, Sunday Jazz with Jeff Duperon welcomes<a href="http://www.laurenlark.com/" target="_blank"> <strong>Lauren Lark</strong> </a>who honed her talents of singing jazz, classical, and many genres in between with a diverse concentration on linguistics including French, Portuguese, Latin, and German at The University of The Arts and has performed at numerous venues and events worldwide.<br />&nbsp;<br />Lauren will discuss her latest project, “A WOMAN of ONE," This musical one-woman program showcases the many talents of the Philadelphia native Lauren Lark. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 21:34:48 +0000 Jeff Duperon 7504 at http://wrti.org Lauren Lark on Sunday Jazz with Jeff Duperon: July 27, 8:30 PM Meet Vocalist Kevin Valentine http://wrti.org/post/meet-vocalist-kevin-valentine <p>In case you missed Jeff Duperon's&nbsp;live broadcast from&nbsp;<em>Art After 5 </em>at the Philadelphia Museum of Art on July 11th, here are clips from Maureen Malloy's interview with vocalist Kevin Valentine, which aired during the broadcast.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Also, for your listening pleasure, here is some of the interview that did not make it on the air during the broadcast. &nbsp;If you're wondering about possible future music from Kevin Valentine, be sure to give this a listen!</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:13:51 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7482 at http://wrti.org Meet Vocalist Kevin Valentine A Sax Trio Taps Tradition While Thriving In The Present http://wrti.org/post/sax-trio-taps-tradition-while-thriving-present <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AueMO4N2BLA</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Tom Moon 7493 at http://wrti.org A Sax Trio Taps Tradition While Thriving In The Present Remembering Jazz Legend Charlie Haden, Who Crafted His Voice In Bass http://wrti.org/post/remembering-jazz-legend-charlie-haden-who-crafted-his-voice-bass <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mJGY-LV1fZ8</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYzlgETvKaY</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 18:07:28 +0000 NPR Music 7485 at http://wrti.org Octavius Catto Celebrated In Song At The Mann Center http://wrti.org/post/octavius-catto-celebrated-song-mann-center <p></p><p>You never know where you'll encounter composer <a href="http://www.uricaine.com/" target="_blank"><strong>Uri Caine</strong> </a>- born, raised, and educated in Philadelphia, but now equally well known in jazz and classical circles around the world. But the Philadelphia Inquirer's David Patrick Stearns found him rehearsing in yet another musical continent at St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church in Olney.</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 15:44:40 +0000 David Patrick Stearns 7477 at http://wrti.org Octavius Catto Celebrated In Song At The Mann Center Jazz in a Historic Philadelphia Neighborhood: Sol Unlimited Summer Concert Series http://wrti.org/post/jazz-historic-philadelphia-neighborhood-sol-unlimited-summer-concert-series <p></p><p>A summer jazz series is once again showcasing music in a historic Philadelphia neighborhood. As WRTI’s Susan Lewis reports, it’s the second season for the concerts, presented by Sol Unlimited Jazz and Arts.</p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 17:36:16 +0000 Susan Lewis 7476 at http://wrti.org Jazz in a Historic Philadelphia Neighborhood: Sol Unlimited Summer Concert Series Michael Pedicin Uncut http://wrti.org/post/michael-pedicin-uncut <p>Locally born saxophonist <strong>Michael Pedicin</strong>&nbsp;has lived the life of many men. We know him for his music, but when Maureen Malloy interviewed Michael prior to his&nbsp;<em>Art After 5 </em>performance on June 20th at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, we learned that his career was much more extensive. In case you missed it, below are the clips that aired.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 18:47:24 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7459 at http://wrti.org Michael Pedicin Uncut Newport Jazz 2011: Avishai Cohen's Triveni With Anat Cohen, Live In Concert http://wrti.org/post/newport-jazz-2011-avishai-cohens-triveni-anat-cohen-live-concert What is it with trumpeter <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/137246879/avishai-cohen" target="_blank">Avishai Cohen</a> and triples lately? He recently recorded a pair of albums with his band Triveni, a free-swinging trio which showcases his fervent imagination. He's also one of three Cohen siblings in jazz's top echelon; Avishai invited his big sister <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15384147" target="_blank">Anat</a>, the celebrated clarinet specialist, to join him here. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 14:36:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7466 at http://wrti.org Newport Jazz 2011: Avishai Cohen's Triveni With Anat Cohen, Live In Concert Music for Your Independence Day Holiday! http://wrti.org/post/music-your-independence-day-holiday <div class="field field-name-body field-type-text-with-summary field-label-hidden "><div class="field-items"><div class="field-item even"><p>We're celebrating America's independence with American classical music during the day and nostalgic jazz at night on July 3rd and 4th. Join us!</p><p><strong>CLASSICAL</strong></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 17:15:56 +0000 Maureen Malloy & Jack Moore 7458 at http://wrti.org Music for Your Independence Day Holiday! June Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine http://wrti.org/post/june-jazz-picks-icon-magazine <p><strong>Here's <strong><strong>Nick </strong><strong>Be</strong>wsey from ICON Magazine with a bunch of great jazz CDs to tell you about. </strong></strong></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:35:56 +0000 Nick Bewsey 7448 at http://wrti.org June Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine