Jazz Through the Day http://wrti.org en The Beloved Ella Fitzgerald: First Lady of Song http://wrti.org/post/beloved-ella-fitzgerald-first-lady-song <p></p><p>The great Ella Fitzgerald was born on April 25th, 1917, and died in 1996; she would have turned 98 next week. As WRTI’s Susan Lewis reports, "The Queen of Jazz" - also called "The First Lady of Song," left a lasting legacy on American song and jazz.</p><p>http://youtu.be/u2bigf337aU</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 13:56:13 +0000 Susan Lewis 7188 at http://wrti.org The Beloved Ella Fitzgerald: First Lady of Song A Jam-Packed Jazz Celebration in Center City http://wrti.org/post/jam-packed-jazz-celebration-center-city <p></p><p>The third annual<strong> <a href="http://ccjazzfest.com/" target="_blank">Center City Jazz Festival </a></strong>is coming up on <strong>Saturday, April 19th</strong>&nbsp; There are 16 bands performing in a six-hour period, in four venues in downtown Philadelphia. WRTI’s Susan Lewis has more.</p><p>The festival warms up on <a href="http://www.philamuseum.org/artafter5" target="_blank"><strong>Friday, April 11th at Art After 5 at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. </strong></a></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 01:45:47 +0000 Susan Lewis 7169 at http://wrti.org A Jam-Packed Jazz Celebration in Center City April Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine http://wrti.org/post/april-jazz-picks-icon-magazine <p><strong><strong>Check out Jazz writer Nick Bewsey's CD suggestions for April.</strong></strong></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:22:20 +0000 Nick Bewsey 7199 at http://wrti.org April Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation http://wrti.org/post/denied-stage-she-sang-nation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mAONYTMf2pk</p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 07:34:00 +0000 Susan Stamberg 7187 at http://wrti.org Denied A Stage, She Sang For A Nation Warm Up for the Center City Jazz Festival at Art After 5! http://wrti.org/post/warm-center-city-jazz-festival-art-after-5 <p>Join WRTI’s Jeff Duperon this<strong> Friday, April 11th at 6 pm </strong>as he broadcasts live from<strong> Art After 5</strong> at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. On the radio, you'll hear the great jazz you expect from WRTI, along with insight and commentary about the third annual <a href="http://wrti.org/post/jam-packed-jazz-celebration-center-city" target="_blank"><strong>Center City Jazz Festival,</strong></a> which is coming up on April 19th. Trombonist <strong>Ernest Stuart</strong>, founder of the Festival, will speak with Jeff about all the details.<br /> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:13:12 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7182 at http://wrti.org Warm Up for the Center City Jazz Festival at Art After 5! It's Official! The City Of Philadelphia Appreciates Jazz http://wrti.org/post/its-official-city-philadelphia-appreciates-jazz <p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 19:49:00 +0000 Meridee Duddleston 7177 at http://wrti.org It's Official! The City Of Philadelphia Appreciates Jazz Last Call at the Downbeat: The Dizzy Gillespie Story http://wrti.org/post/last-call-downbeat-dizzy-gillespie-story <p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 00:22:57 +0000 Meridee Duddleston 7149 at http://wrti.org Last Call at the Downbeat: The Dizzy Gillespie Story Those "I Love Jazz" Moments http://wrti.org/post/those-i-love-jazz-moments <p>One night recently, as I was home struggling to convince my toddler that the floor is not where leftover food lives, John Coltrane and Duke Ellington’s “In A Sentimental Mood” came on the radio. Suddenly, I found myself paying a bit more attention to the music than the drama at hand. Why? Because I knew what was coming....that specific moment in the song that always gets to me. There's a total mood shift as the timing completely changes and you start to notice the drums more and more. And then you start to wonder if the drums were even there at all during the beginning of the tune. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 15:58:00 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7158 at http://wrti.org Those "I Love Jazz" Moments Remembering The Sensational Billie Holiday http://wrti.org/post/remembering-sensational-billie-holiday <p></p><p>Jazz great <strong>Billie Holiday,</strong> who died at age 44 in 1959, would have turned 99 on April 7, 2014. As WRTI’s Susan Lewis reports, in her short career, this Philadelphia-born singer made a huge impact on jazz and American song.</p><p>http://youtu.be/4P0hG3sD0-E</p><p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.solunlimitedjazz.com/" target="_blank"><strong>The Sol Unlimited Jazz and Arts website</strong></a> has more information about Serena Sol Brown's own music as well as Sol Unlimited's summer festival in Philadelphia.</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 22:04:27 +0000 Susan Lewis 7140 at http://wrti.org Remembering The Sensational Billie Holiday Swing Into Spring on Big Band Jazz: March 30, 7 PM http://wrti.org/post/swing-spring-big-band-jazz-march-30-7-pm <p>Spring songs get the Big Band Jazz treatment this Sunday! Listen to Basie and Kenton, as well as the Diva Jazz Orchestra, and Marty Paich. Grow an hour of Spring Fever this Sunday evening at 7 pm on WRTI.</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9BQjwKaNEM&amp;list=RD_9BQjwKaNEM&amp;feature=share</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 15:41:00 +0000 Bob Craig 7139 at http://wrti.org Swing Into Spring on Big Band Jazz: March 30, 7 PM