Jazz Through the Night http://wrti.org en Meet Vocalist Kevin Valentine http://wrti.org/post/meet-vocalist-kevin-valentine <p>In case you missed Jeff Duperon's&nbsp;live broadcast from&nbsp;<em>Art After 5 </em>at the Philadelphia Museum of Art on July 11th, here are clips from Maureen Malloy's interview with vocalist Kevin Valentine, which aired during the broadcast.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Also, for your listening pleasure, here is some of the interview that did not make it on the air during the broadcast. &nbsp;If you're wondering about possible future music from Kevin Valentine, be sure to give this a listen!</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 15:13:51 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7482 at http://wrti.org Meet Vocalist Kevin Valentine A Doctor, An Aussie, and The Bad Plus on The Bridge: June 27 at 10 PM http://wrti.org/post/doctor-aussie-and-bad-plus-bridge-june-27-10-pm <p>Tune in to<em> The Bridge</em> on Friday, June 27th&nbsp;at 10 pm to hear a jam-packed night of great music and interesting conversation. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:09:34 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7418 at http://wrti.org A Doctor, An Aussie, and The Bad Plus on The Bridge: June 27 at 10 PM Bob Perkins’ Jazz Library: Memories of Saxophonist Hank Mobley http://wrti.org/post/bob-perkins-jazz-library-memories-saxophonist-hank-mobley <p>I don’t recall hearing much about <strong>Hank Mobley</strong>, until he recorded a certain record album in 1963. But, this was my fault for not listening closely enough to Philly’s all-jazz radio station that prevailed at the time. The station must have played Mobley often, because he was a hot jazz commodity about that time.</p><p>http://youtu.be/ndqxk5J-VHQ</p> Thu, 08 May 2014 18:54:39 +0000 Bob Perkins 7195 at http://wrti.org Bob Perkins’ Jazz Library: Memories of Saxophonist Hank Mobley April Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine http://wrti.org/post/april-jazz-picks-icon-magazine <p><strong><strong>Check out Jazz writer Nick Bewsey's CD suggestions for April.</strong></strong></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:22:20 +0000 Nick Bewsey 7199 at http://wrti.org April Jazz Picks from ICON Magazine Warm Up for the Center City Jazz Festival at Art After 5! http://wrti.org/post/warm-center-city-jazz-festival-art-after-5 <p>Join WRTI’s Jeff Duperon this<strong> Friday, April 11th at 6 pm </strong>as he broadcasts live from<strong> Art After 5</strong> at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. On the radio, you'll hear the great jazz you expect from WRTI, along with insight and commentary about the third annual <a href="http://wrti.org/post/jam-packed-jazz-celebration-center-city" target="_blank"><strong>Center City Jazz Festival,</strong></a> which is coming up on April 19th. Trombonist <strong>Ernest Stuart</strong>, founder of the Festival, will speak with Jeff about all the details.<br /> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:13:12 +0000 Maureen Malloy 7182 at http://wrti.org Warm Up for the Center City Jazz Festival at Art After 5! A (Gerry) Mulligan Stew on WRTI http://wrti.org/post/gerry-mulligan-stew-wrti <p>The Big Band side of the influential baritone saxophonist Gerry Mulligan will be featured on Big Band Jazz this <strong>Sunday, April 13 at 7 pm</strong>. An arranger with Gene Krupa, Elliot Lawrence, and Stan Kenton in the '40s and '50s, to his own Concert Jazz Band in the '60s, it's an 87th birthday tribute to the one-time Philly resident.</p><p>http://youtu.be/rv_mCPTydIg</p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 20:18:16 +0000 Bob Craig 7168 at http://wrti.org A (Gerry) Mulligan Stew on WRTI Radio Pro Bob Craig: 50 Years On The Air and Counting! http://wrti.org/post/radio-pro-bob-craig-50-years-air-and-counting <p>WRTI's much-loved jazz host Bob Craig is celebrating a milestone - 50 years on the air! We're so proud of Bob. He's a seasoned pro, and we're extremely fortunate that he's a part of our WRTI family. Here's his story...</p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 20:52:07 +0000 WRTI Staff 7063 at http://wrti.org Radio Pro Bob Craig: 50 Years On The Air and Counting! Jazz Pianist Helen Sung's ANTHEM FOR A NEW DAY: Equal Parts Soulfulness and Grace http://wrti.org/post/jazz-pianist-helen-sungs-anthem-new-day-equal-parts-soulfulness-and-grace <p>For a jazz pianist, New York-based <strong>Helen Sung</strong> certainly fits into the “deserves to be better known” category. For those who <em>do</em> know and appreciate her art, Sung’s club gigs are adventurous, disarming, and always have an unexpected surprise or two. It was at one of these small club dates where I caught her during a late set in the summer of 2013 with much of the same band that accompany her on <em><strong>Anthem For A New Day,</strong></em> her glossy and rewarding debut record for Concord Jazz.</p> Thu, 20 Feb 2014 19:52:09 +0000 Nick Bewsey 7027 at http://wrti.org Jazz Pianist Helen Sung's ANTHEM FOR A NEW DAY: Equal Parts Soulfulness and Grace ICON Suggests: Amy Cervini's Big-Hearted Hybrid Album, JAZZ COUNTRY http://wrti.org/post/icon-suggests-amy-cervinis-big-hearted-hybrid-album-jazz-country <p>A Manhattan backdrop substitutes for prairie land and open sky on <strong><em>Jazz Country</em></strong>, the big-hearted hybrid album from singer <strong>Amy Cervini </strong>that’s as endearing and tender as a vocal recording can be in 2014. She smartly transcends genre boundaries or anything else that gets in the way of the purity of a song. The spare musical accompaniment by guitarist Jesse Lewis and bassist Matt Aranoff frame Cervini’s renditions of these classic American songs simply and earnestly, underscoring her candor and crystalline delivery.</p><p></p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 17:17:46 +0000 Nick Bewsey 7023 at http://wrti.org ICON Suggests: Amy Cervini's Big-Hearted Hybrid Album, JAZZ COUNTRY A Man, A Plan, A Concept Album About Panama http://wrti.org/post/man-plan-concept-album-about-panama <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cisr0-V9SKE</p> Sat, 15 Feb 2014 22:00:00 +0000 NPR Music 7013 at http://wrti.org A Man, A Plan, A Concept Album About Panama