Bill Chappell http://wrti.org en Solar Storm Goes Easy On Earth — But More Are Sure To Come, NASA Says http://wrti.org/post/solar-storm-goes-easy-earth-more-are-sure-come-nasa-says <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xKRBkBBEP0</p> Thu, 08 Mar 2012 18:36:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 1233 at http://wrti.org Solar Storm Goes Easy On Earth — But More Are Sure To Come, NASA Says Sun Sends Solar Flares Speeding Toward Earth; Will Hit Thursday [VIDEO] http://wrti.org/post/sun-sends-solar-flares-speeding-toward-earth-will-hit-thursday-video <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLq5oW28glw</p> Wed, 07 Mar 2012 21:52:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 1206 at http://wrti.org Sun Sends Solar Flares Speeding Toward Earth; Will Hit Thursday [VIDEO] Brazil Moves To Ease Soccer Beer Ban, As World Cup Spat With FIFA Grows http://wrti.org/post/brazil-moves-ease-soccer-beer-ban-world-cup-spat-fifa-grows Brazil took a step toward relaxing its strict ban on alcohol at soccer stadiums Tuesday, responding to World Cup organizers' concerns. Wed, 07 Mar 2012 20:21:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 1201 at http://wrti.org Brazil Moves To Ease Soccer Beer Ban, As World Cup Spat With FIFA Grows How Do You Ship A Horse To The London Olympics? Carefully, And Via FedEx http://wrti.org/post/how-do-you-ship-horse-london-olympics-carefully-and-fedex The elite athletes who travel to London for this summer's Olympic Games will include petite gymnasts, huge wrestlers — and elite horses, which compete in dressage and other events. Getting these strong and delicate animals to the Olympics is no job for an amateur. In fact, it's the job of Tim Dutta, who owns an international horse transport company.<p>"It's quite a logistical feat," Dutta tells <em>Morning Edition</em> co-host Steve Inskeep. Wed, 07 Mar 2012 05:01:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 1174 at http://wrti.org How Do You Ship A Horse To The London Olympics? Carefully, And Via FedEx How To Adjust Your Privacy Settings, Before Google's Big Shift http://wrti.org/post/how-adjust-your-privacy-settings-googles-big-shift News that Google will place its dozens of services under one privacy policy — a change that also means the company will compile and collate each user's data from all those products — has some of its customers scrambling to restrict their privacy settings before <a href="http://www.google.com/intl/en/policies/privacy/preview/">the new policy</a> goes into effect on March 1.<p>Of course, not everyone who relies on Google for Web search, email or YouTube is concerned about the pending change. Wed, 29 Feb 2012 16:16:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 941 at http://wrti.org How To Adjust Your Privacy Settings, Before Google's Big Shift What Science Fiction Books Does A Futurist Read? http://wrti.org/post/what-science-fiction-books-does-futurist-read One of science fiction's jobs is to give humanity a map of where we're headed. From Jules Verne to William Gibson, sci-fi authors have described their versions of the future, and how people might live in it.<p>Those ideas came up in a recent conversation I had with <a href="http://techresearch.intel.com/tomorrowproject.aspx">Brian David Johnson</a>, who works for Intel as a futurist — a title that gives him one of the tech world's cooler business cards.<p>Johnson says that his job lies at the intersection of science fiction and science fact. Fri, 24 Feb 2012 15:30:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 763 at http://wrti.org What Science Fiction Books Does A Futurist Read? Holiday News Roundup: Mardi Gras, Greece And John Glenn http://wrti.org/post/holiday-news-roundup-mardi-gras-greece-and-john-glenn <em>The Two-Way</em> is formally off-duty for the Presidents' Day holiday. But not only does the news not take a holiday — often, holidays are the news. Here's a quick roundup of some of today's important and most-discussed stories:<p><ul><p><li>Syria is reinforcing its military in what seems to be a bid to control Homs. (<a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/02/20/147152954/syrian-army-reinforcements-head-to-homs">AP</a>)</li><p><li>Sens. Lindsey Graham and John McCain are calling for the U.S. to arm the Syrian rebels. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 17:18:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 600 at http://wrti.org Holiday News Roundup: Mardi Gras, Greece And John Glenn Baseball's Spring Training Begins; Opening Day Is April 4 http://wrti.org/post/baseballs-spring-training-begins-opening-day-april-4 Major League Baseball's spring training has begun, as catchers and pitchers have made their way to Florida and Arizona to prepare for the 2012 season. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 16:07:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 598 at http://wrti.org Baseball's Spring Training Begins; Opening Day Is April 4 Stephen Colbert Set To Return Tonight, After A Delay In Taping http://wrti.org/post/stephen-colbert-set-return-tonight-after-delay-taping <em>The Colbert Report </em>is set to resume production Monday, after a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2012/02/16/147002350/halt-in-colbert-report-production-reportedly-due-to-family-emergency">hiatus last week</a> brought on by concerns over the health of Stephen Colbert's mother, according to reports. Lorna Colbert, 91, lives in Charleston, S.C., where the Comedy Central star grew up.<p>Colbert received a flood of well-wishers' thoughts on Twitter after his show abruptly ceased production for two days last week. Mon, 20 Feb 2012 13:53:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 597 at http://wrti.org Stephen Colbert Set To Return Tonight, After A Delay In Taping Gary Carter, Hall Of Famer And Mets Hero, Dies Of Brain Cancer At 57 http://wrti.org/post/gary-carter-hall-famer-and-mets-hero-dies-brain-cancer-57 Gary Carter, the former Major League Baseball catcher who helped the New York Mets win the 1986 World Series, has died of brain cancer at 57. Thu, 16 Feb 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 504 at http://wrti.org Gary Carter, Hall Of Famer And Mets Hero, Dies Of Brain Cancer At 57