Jim Cotter http://wrti.org en Cristian Macelaru: Standing In and Standing Out http://wrti.org/post/cristian-macelaru-standing-and-standing-out <p></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:13:28 +0000 Jim Cotter 7501 at http://wrti.org Cristian Macelaru: Standing In and Standing Out A German Soprano Finds Freedom In Singing Mahler In America http://wrti.org/post/german-soprano-finds-freedom-singing-mahler-america <p></p><p>On this Sunday’s Philadelphia Orchestra in Concert broadcast, Music Director <strong>Yannick Nezet-Seguin </strong>conducts works by Britten and Strauss, along with <strong>Mahler's Symphony No. 4.</strong> As WRTI’s Jim Cotter reports, the German soprano in the Mahler work is singing a piece that is revered in her homeland.</p><p>http://youtu.be/Pbk1geolj78</p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 17:09:57 +0000 Jim Cotter 7478 at http://wrti.org A German Soprano Finds Freedom In Singing Mahler In America Yannick Conducts His Alma Mater Choir...and The Philadelphia Orchestra! http://wrti.org/post/yannick-conducts-his-alma-mater-choirand-philadelphia-orchestra <p></p><p><strong>Westminster Choir College</strong> at Rider University in Princeton, New Jersey is an epicenter for excellence in choral music. As WRTI’s Jim Cotter reports, one of Westminster’s choirs can be heard on WRTI on Sunday, July 13 at 1 pm, conducted by a now very well-known alum of the school.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 16:05:38 +0000 Jim Cotter 7470 at http://wrti.org Yannick Conducts His Alma Mater Choir...and The Philadelphia Orchestra! PAFA Celebrates African American Art http://wrti.org/post/pafa-celebrates-african-american-art <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><strong>The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts</strong> now has a two-part exhibition of works on paper by African American artists. As </span>WRTI’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Jim Cotter reports, the works on view represent a wide range of explorations in this medium.</span></p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 18:27:24 +0000 Jim Cotter 7453 at http://wrti.org PAFA Celebrates African American Art Painter Benjamin West: A Colonial-Age Art Superstar http://wrti.org/post/painter-benjamin-west-colonial-age-art-superstar <p></p><p>Born in 1738 in a village just outside Philadelphia, <strong>Benjamin West </strong>was one of the first Americans to achieve superstar status on the international art scene.&nbsp; However, as WRTI’s Jim Cotter Reports, West’s success came not at home, but abroad.</p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:36:15 +0000 Jim Cotter 7429 at http://wrti.org Painter Benjamin West: A Colonial-Age Art Superstar An Orchestra Musician Who Has Seen Them All http://wrti.org/post/orchestra-musician-who-has-seen-them-all <p></p><p>Since its founding in 1900, The Philadelphia&nbsp;Orchestra has had four music directors whose tenures have lasted more than a decade. Today, as WRTI's Jim Cotter reports, there is one member of the ensemble who has played under all of these great conductors.</p><p>When violinist Herbert Light won his audition for the Orchestra in 1961, it was his second job offer in a week.</p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 16:31:41 +0000 Jim Cotter 7170 at http://wrti.org An Orchestra Musician Who Has Seen Them All The Ocean City Pops Are Back For Summer! http://wrti.org/post/ocean-city-pops-are-back-summer <p></p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 10:20:00 +0000 Jim Cotter 7385 at http://wrti.org The Ocean City Pops Are Back For Summer! Violinist Nikolaj Znaider's Beethoven Odyssey http://wrti.org/post/violinist-nikolaj-znaiders-beethoven-odyssey <p></p><p><strong>Ludwig van Beethoven</strong> tried certain musical forms only once. One opera, one violin concerto, was all he wrote.</p><div><p>Violinist <strong>Nikolaj Znaider&nbsp;</strong>says he spent years preparing to take on, what he says is, one of the most difficult pieces for his instrument. It took age, and its attendant personal and artistic growth, for him to get beyond what he describes as "mere graphical representation of the music, those black dots on white paper."</p><p>http://youtu.be/uH9iZ9k7ywI</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 19:53:20 +0000 Jim Cotter 7349 at http://wrti.org Violinist Nikolaj Znaider's Beethoven Odyssey A Freelance Classical Musician's Tell-All Memoir Becomes Amazon Series http://wrti.org/post/freelance-classical-musicians-tell-all-memoir-becomes-amazon-series <p style="margin-bottom: 15px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;">&nbsp;</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Jim Cotter 7301 at http://wrti.org A Freelance Classical Musician's Tell-All Memoir Becomes Amazon Series Philly's Kid Fest Celebrates 30! http://wrti.org/post/phillys-kid-fest-celebrates-30 <p><span style="font-family: Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 16px;">The 30th&nbsp;<a href="http://www.annenbergcenter.org/tickets/childfest.php" target="_blank"><strong>Philadelphia International Children’s Festival </strong></a>runs Wednesday, April 30 – Sunday, May 4, 2014. Featuring family-friendly theater performances</span><span style="font-family: Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 16px;">, as well as a host of fun and interactive activities in the FUN ZONE, the Outdoor Plaza gets kids involved with crafts, face painting, jugglers and more.</span></p> Thu, 15 May 2014 15:41:07 +0000 Jim Cotter 7298 at http://wrti.org Philly's Kid Fest Celebrates 30!